Android Jelly Bean Review: A Treat For Android Lovers

By Jane Sheeba / January 7, 2013

Research and development on Android OS is going deep to fulfill user requirements. Since the earlier versions of Android had performance issues, Google has brought out an advanced version of Android, ‘Jelly Bean’.

Android 4.1 Jelly Bean and Android 4.2 Jelly Bean are two versions of Android Jelly Bean. These new Androids are just a mathematical jump from the previously launched Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich.

Android 4.1 Jelly Bean

Android 4.1 jelly bean has aimed to boost user experience by bestowing excellent level of smoothness of visuals and application processing. It was released on July 9, 2012. Nexus 7 tablet was the first device to run on Jelly Bean.

 Main Features

Android Jelly Bean

Jelly bean 4.1 has offered users with many adorable features. They are

  • Triple buffering
  • Automatic widget resizing
  • Google Now
  • Advanced notification panel
  • Offline voice typing
  • NFC enabled
  • Predictive keywords

Triple buffering: gives you the essence of smoothness.

Automatic widget resizing: Size of icons change according to space and according to home screen it has been introduced.

Google now: Search results are given automatically with this application.

Advanced notification panel: In this, notification details are shown in panel directly.

Offline voice typing: Voice typing with no data connectivity.

NFC: NFC is a Near Field communication technology.

Predictive keywords: Enables the user to select the needed keywords according to their requirements.

Other features are as follows

  • This fastest and smoothest Android is more reactive and gives you a uniform touch experience.
  • Responsive nature is increased by boosting CPU instantly while touching and it is turned down when not necessary, thereby increasing the battery life.
  • Personalizing home screen and interacting with favorite apps are easy.
  • You can seamlessly take and share photos since it is super fast.
  •  Voice typing is possible without data connection and it is even better when compared to other releases.
  • To fit external Braille input and output devices, Jelly Bean has provided support.
  • Gesture mode can be used by blind to navigate the UI with speech output.
  • Web Pages load faster with updated programming.
  • Animations in calendar make it colorful and attractive.
  • In notifications, you can view full photo and full text.
  •  To your queries, precise answers can be got through enhanced Google search.
  • Different cards like weather card, traffic card, transit card, places card, flight card, currency card etc appear to keep you updated.

Android 4.2 Jelly Bean

Android 4.2 Jelly Bean control

Android 4.2 Jell Bean is a new flavor and it is the biggest innovation in multiuser support. It was released on November 13, 2012. Samsung’s Nexus 10 and LG’s Nexus 4 were the first devices to run on this version

Significant Features

Android 4.2 has excellent features that are listed below

  • Gesture typing
  • Multi user support
  • Smart screen savers
  • Miracast – support for wireless display
  • Lock screen widgets
  • Quick controls

Gesture typing: By sliding your fingers across keys you can input the needed text.

Multi user support: Multiple users can have own home screens, apps, widgets etc only on Android 4.2 powered tablets.

Smart screen savers: Daydream is a smart screen saver that shows you news headlines, photo slideshows etc.

Miracast: Internet TV shows and movies from tablets and smartphones can be streamed with Miracast adapters. Miracast is 802.11n compatible network protocol and is a trade name for WiDi.

Lock screen widgets: With this, you can view things like time, weather etc even though your device is locked.

Quick controls: With the improved performance, control of the device can be done quickly.

Other features are listed below

  • Updated version of kernel is used for enhanced security and memory utilization.
  • Getting information is easier with better Google now.
  • Useful information is displayed by Daydream when the device is idle or docked.
  • Instant actions can be taken from notifications.
  • It has an amazing photo sphere camera (a 360 degree panorama mode).
  • Spaces are added automatically in text messages and sentences in text can be completed easily through predicted words.
  • Has updated Gmail and brand new clock app.

The improved functionalities are useful for technology geeks. The updated version 4.2.1 fixed a bug and added joysticks and Bluetooth game pads  The new versions of Google is a definitely a treat for Android lovers.

Subscribe for free to get all the news and tech tips delivered right to your inbox!

About the author

Jane Sheeba

is an entrepreneur and online business consultant. She shares her wellness tips at Slick Wellness. If you are into starting/running an online business and want success with life and business go here.

Koundeenya - January 7, 2013

Jelly Bean is really an very cool upgrade for Android. After reading this review, I really started loving it more. I’m going to get Sony Tipo this week and fortunately, it runs on JellyBean software

Ronald Harris - January 8, 2013

Yeah Agree! Jelly Bean OS really great!

Android User here!

Sarah Park - January 9, 2013


I love Android. And I was able to love it more with the coming of Jelly Bean. It surely gives a lot of useful and entertaining features.

Aayna - January 11, 2013

Hey Jane,
I am a dedicated lover of android. Every time it offers something new and innovative. Jelly bean is indeed an amazing thing, with features of tripple buffering and predictive keywords, I am sure it is here to stay. Thanks for sharing this review and acquainting me with more features of Jelly bean.

Mohd Aktar - January 12, 2013

Hi jane, thanks for this post. I got great information here. And this is excellent site.

Fatima - January 13, 2013

Thanks for the review; it is just what I was searching for before I could decide to buy an Android.

daniella - January 15, 2013

Hi Jane, this really is an excellent article. I am quite delighted that i found this information. Thanks for your insight. Im hoping to purchase a jelly bean very soon ! 🙂

Adam Ever - January 18, 2013

wow Jelly Bean is really awesome, thanks for describing Jelly Bean in detail

Daryl - January 28, 2013

Awesome review! Android Jelly Bean is awesome with its great features.

Jamie P - January 28, 2013

I Love Android! cause of features and usability. And it has come out with Android jelly bean with enhanced features, its really cool.

Vianney - January 28, 2013

I, for one, am using an android phone and jelly bean and ice cream sandwich OS have been my favorite OS so far. So cool retina display and the cool stuff you can do is just amazing!

Arianne - January 28, 2013

I’m an Android user and have been loving its features. Jelly Bean compared to other android versions is much better. And higher versions of Android OS have greater features that users would really love. Great review, Jane.

Rajib - March 4, 2013

JellyBeans is really great , it enhances the touch smoothness greatly. Google is constantly updating Android for better user experince and beat iOS. Thaks for sharing this nice post Jane Sheeba.

Mark - March 20, 2013

hello Jane
android jelly bean os is very awesome and i really love to play my new android phone with latest os in it as it has so many countless features

abhishek - April 2, 2013

The interface looks cool , but there are no revolutionary change comparing to the existing version

John - April 17, 2013

Jelly Bean has definitely been the best release of Android so far, but I’m looking forward to what Key Lime Pie has to offer.

wahyu wibowo - April 21, 2013

Really Great.
Really appreciate you sharing this post.Really thank you! Want more.
Awesome blog.Much thanks again..!!

Nagaraju G - April 22, 2013

Nice Review Jane, i really like jelly bean os and it is the latest one, recently buyed Galaxy Grand and njoying jelly bean on it 🙂

Fabi daps - May 5, 2013

This is really a Nice Review. I love Jelly Bean OS so much

Matt - May 6, 2013

I’ve been waffling over and over on iOS or Android…I’ve had both…but really appreciate that Android is so much more open and less proprietary. That’s what’s been swaying me recently.

Zoya Bennet - August 6, 2013

The way you have revied this version is too good. I am an Android lover and this post is great use for me. All the versions of Android have played a better game in market and eargely waiting for the upcoming versions also.

Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: